top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNathan McNamara

Song Exploder Week 3

Onto the third week of my song exploder and the drum session has been booked. Still yet to find a vocalist. I have changed my mind and am going to use a male vocalist. Taking Taylor Larson’s male vocal approach is going to change a little bit, but he has plenty references to use to help me achieve the right sound. I have set out my mic choice and placement, along with a drum kit. The hard part about recording drums for this project is that the cymbal selection I made using superior drummer isn’t going to be the same as the one I will track. I will be using Larson’s sample pack which will almost completely replace my live drums, but this to achieve a sound that resembles Larson’s.

In terms of the synth structure I have cleaned them up a little. They will need a bit more work. Looking ahead to mixing something I will have to focus on will be creating space for everything as there seems to be a lot of clashing between instruments. I have been studying his approach to mixes ITB to try and follow his process. I have enough information to apply the right drum processing as close as possible. I can only find the type of gear he uses for guitars and bass in this style of music. That being Music Man guitars and bass through PRS amplifiers and cabinets. I know that his favourite vocal mic is the Sony c800g, but I have seen him use u87’s, which I have access to.


6 hours - Working on synth composition

6 hours - Drum Research and planning for session

6 hours - Study on Taylor Larson’s mix technique

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page